top of page
Search

All Means All Scholarship 2023

The All Means All Scholarship so part of the Erasmus+ Programme was

an unexpected opportunity for me., but one that has enabled me to tick

of more that one of my goals (or outcomes if we are talking in the

language of sold directed support). For anyone that knows Y.O.U and I

you will know that Dublin was one of my goes to places, so not going to

lie that was the biggest appeal as the scholarship was hosted at

Maynooth University in Dublin

.

I might not have come back with the Irish man I always say I want, but

what I did come back with was international connections, experience of

being part of a scholarship and experience of producing an international

resource for teaching assistants which will hopefully be of more use than

any romantic relationship would be!


I found myself being a teacher of inclusion within an hour of arriving in

Dublin. This was due to a misunderstanding with my access needs and

the fact that I need something as simple as a bed with legs to get my

stand aid under. However, this was resolved, but now as easily as I

would have like as I had to end up staying in a hotel for the first night

and in the accessible room, I couldn’t use the shower due to a

step…...the same challenges just a different country!


The two weeks were spent with two very different groups of people, but

with the same end goal to write a chapter for the All Means All

International Resource. One of the chapters I was writing was about

Personal Assistants and Teach Assistants and the other was on

Transitions for School aged children and young people. It was strange

for me to be back in the world of academia, but also kind of nice and

didn’t long to settle back in. What it did do however, was make me

question my English despite having a higher English and a PhD. This

was primarily because English wasn’t the first language for a lot of my

colleagues, so at times I found myself mentally drained because I was

regularly putting English into context for them. I was also very aware that

whatever I told them they were taking my English back to Italy, Germany

and Greece, so it had to be right. After the two weeks I came back with

more work than what I left with as we are still working on the resource,

however having spent a week with each of my groups it is a lot easier

when we meet online now.


Dublin was a blast with it being Pride weekend, the weather was

scorching on that Saturday! I went to the wax work museum, shopping

and on a tour of the river Lifey which was full accessible. I also managed

to squeeze in traditional Irish dancing and heard some traditional music.

A lot of the shopping I done involved gift buying and I bought my first gift

for my niece who isn’t yet born, but when she arrives into the world she

will have a touch of Ireland around her with her first Teddy and one of

her first T-shirts that says “Someone who loves me bought me this t-shirt

from Dublin”.



It was important to me that my colleagues got to know Danielle and not

Danielle with a PA! One of my favourite photos that was taken I’m not

even in, but the photo illustrates inclusion well, it is of my colleagues

sitting under parasols in the rain with their jackets on as it was pouring it

down, but we weren’t sure if we could find another pub that could

accommodate our large group that was also accessible. Noone cared!

This is what All Mean All looks like

34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page