top of page
Search

Who Says Christmas Has To Be In December???

The Covid-19 pandemic has turned the world on its head for almost two years now...Christmas trees being put up before Halloween was over, Zoom fatigue becoming a thing, and working from home no longer being a way to get out of going into the office, that pretty much sums up the world we now live in...


So who says Christmas has to be in December???....not me or my colleagues from In Control Scotland, thats for sure. On friday (4th February 2022) I was all dressed up with somewhere to go in my tartan suit as i joined my colleagues at Magggie Mays in glasgow for our belated christmas day/night out.


Good conversation, good food and a drink or two sums it up for me. It made such a nice change to see my and Y.O.Us colleagues in person rather than through a computer screen. I've been involved with In Control Scotland since graduating from their Partners in Policymaking Programme in 2017. Now i have various roles within the organisation including as a board member and a co-faciliator for their Working Together for Change Programme.


These particular colleagues played a significant role in my lockdown experience along with a couple of other colleagues...Not many people are aware of this...Friday was the first time Y.O.U and I were invited to a work related social gathering outside 'normal' working hours. This might seem insignificant to others but its a significant step for Y.O.U and I, particularly after almost two years of sheilding due to the pandemic.


Until friday i hadn't been in a pub for a day/night out since February 2020. I've never been much of a drinker, usually sticking to peach snchapps, blue wkd or the occassional strawberry cider. However neither my colleagues fancied deep fried mars bar or deep fried celebrations for dessert so instead opted for cocktails...


A Call Of The Zombie was my cocktail of choice. The cocktail consisted of rum, pineapple, passion fruit and other drinks I wouldnt normally drink but together they made a tasty but very sweet cocktail. The cocktail certainly lived up to its name because i felt like a zombie the next day🙂Not that i'm blaming just the cocktail. I think i'm just out of pratice at being out socially...


Besides i was reliably informed that my driving of my wheelchair was still 'on par due to managing to drive my wheelchair through a tight space after leaving the pub


With it looking like that we have to learn to live with covid-19 it may be more likely that any christmas celebration will actually be held at christmas this year. However if covid or anything else prevents this from happening who says christmas needs to be in December???


19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page